• October 4, 2023

The Philippine chapter of the Women International Network on Disaster Risk Reduction (WINDRR PH) was launched last April 26 at the SM Mall of Asia.

Senator Loren Legarda, a staunch environmentalist and disaster risk reduction global advocate, gave the keynote address. Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Disaster Risk Reduction (SRSG) and Head of the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR), Mami Mizutori delivered a special address from Geneva, Switzerland.

SM Prime’s contributions are a shining example of how Public–Private Partnership can strengthen whole of society engagement so that no one is left behind,” said SRSG Mizutori. “One group that continues to be left behind and suffers disproportionately from the impacts of disaster is women. This is why we establish WINDRR with the support of Australia to promote women’s leadership in DRR,” she added.

For her part, Senator Legarda, a UNDRR Global Champion on Resilience and founding member of WINDRR PH, reinforced her commitment for DRR.

“I will be available, I will make time, I will give whatever I can not only in lawmaking but in urgent concrete actions to spread the word and translate these words and policies in to actions that can impact on lives for the better,” she said.

“The WINDRR is a powerful platform where we can do more and deliver greater impact. Empowering women to make families, homes, community, livelihoods disaster resilient means freeing them from the vulnerability and the inequality. Thus, the WINDRR network can properly address gender issues in the design and implementation of the DRR and Management Programs and ensure that the contribution of
women in disaster resilience will be valued,” she added.

WINDRR is a flagship program of the UNDRR on women’s leadership on disaster risk reduction in Asia- Pacific and is supported by the Australian Government. In the Philippines, WINDRR PH is powered by SM Prime through its SM CARES Program for Women and the Asia Pacific College.

WINDRR PH founding members include Dr. Tata Pastor Medado, Engr. Liza Silerio, Atty. Pearl Turley, Atty. Violeta Seva, Dr. Marqueza Reyes, Dr. Ronilda Co,  Ms. Johanna Laddaran, Ms. Minet Aguisanda Jerusalem, and Dr. Angela Zafra.   

Leave a Reply