• July 20, 2024

Ten outstanding local governance programs were recognized in the 2022 Galing Pook Awards held at the Ceremonial Hall of Malacanang Palace last November 22.

Galing Pook Foundation, with its co-presenters SM Prime Holdings Inc.and the DILG-Local Government Academy, and sponsors Cebu Pacific and Airspeed, named local government units from Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao that promote innovation and excellence.

The winners of the 2022 Galing Pook Awards are:

  • The Green Wall of Alcala (Alcala, Cagayan)
  • Advancing and Sustaining Good Governance and Community Actions towards Resiliency and Empowerment (Basilan Province)
  • Bataan Public-Private Partnership Programs (Bataan Province)
  • Balik-Biñan Project: Tourism Development through Heritage Conservation (Biñan City, Laguna)
  • From Black to Green: Fishponds, Eco-Tourism and Full Employment (Brgy. Cayabu, Tanay, Rizal)
  • Trekking to Unlock Community Ailments and Difficulties (TUCAD) (Goa, Camarines Sur)
  • I-Bike: A Program Promoting the Development of the Iloilo City Bike Culture (Iloilo City)
  • Yaru: A Whole-of-Community Approach Towards Disaster Management (Itbayat, Batanes)
  • Libertad Fish Forever Savings Club (Libertad, Antique)
  • Basta Piddigueño, AgriHenyo: Consolidated Farm Production System (Piddig, Ilocos Norte)

The 10 winners were chosen from 18 finalists and a record field of 196 applications from different LGUs in the country.

Launched on October 21, 1993, the Galing Pook Awards has recognized 329 LGU programs from 200 LGUs in the country that have been promoted for replication to benefit more communities.

Leave a Reply